27 January 2021
2005 Tullamore Pioneer Centre

Tullamore Pioneer Centre



     The Centre was founded in the year 1918 and in June, 1988 a celebration of seventy years existence took place with Mass attended by Father Bernard J. McGuckian, S.J., Central Director of the Pioneers, assisted by Father Gerry Boyle, C.C. and Father Lorenzo Bracken, Mill Jill Fathers in the Court Hotel, Tullamore.  Over 120 Pioneers and their friends attended.


     The Centre was reorganised in 1970 by Fr. Joe Gillson, then C.C. in Tullamore, when nearly 400 Probationers and pioneers were entered in the new Register at that time.  The Officers of the Centre at that time were Fr. Joe Gillson (Spiritual Director), Dr. Brendan White (R.I.P.) (President), Larry Dunne (Secretary) with Council members Thomas O’Callaghan and Eamon Cunningham.


     Fr. Gerry Boyle, C.C. was the Centre’s Spiritual Director until very recently when he became Parish Priest of Multyfarnham and was replaced by Fr. Shane Crombie C.C., who is now the new Spiritual Director of the Centre.  He officiated at the Clara Regional Committee Mass in Durrow on Sunday, 11th December assisted by Fr.. Edward Daly, P.P., Spiritual Director of the Regional Committee.     Fr. Crombie celebrated the Tullamore Centre’s Mass in the Day Chapel at 8p.m. on Monday, 12th December at which Golden emblems and Parchments were presented to five members,  May Dowling, Ann Molloy, Pat Heffernan, Joe Hayden and Sheila Culreavy.